top of page

USS Intrepid

The first full day I spent in NYC I ended up here and honestly I thought it was so cool. I take after my dad for thinking that a big old war ship is awesome, but that isn't upsetting at all.

So a brief history for you taken from the Intrepid website "Launched in 1943, the aircraft carrier Intrepid fought in World War II, surviving five kamikaze attacks and one torpedo strike. The ship later served in the Cold War and the Vietnam War. Intrepid also served as a NASA recovery vessel in the 1960s. More than 50,000 men served on board Intrepid during the ship's time in service, and more than 270 men made the ultimate sacrifice. Intrepid was decommissioned in 1974. Today, Intrepid is berthed on the Hudson River as the centerpiece of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum."

Along with the USS Intrepid, there is also Submarine Growler and a Space Shuttle Pavilion to explore. The Space Shuttle costs extra to go see, so I didn't go, but the Submarine is included in the basic admission so I did go through that (Shalee and I in the Growler -->).

So how I went through the museum - bought my ticket (very important because that's how you get in!), then we got in line to go see the Growler which took maybe 15-20 minutes, it wasn't too bad. After walking though that we went and explored the Intrepid. On the main deck inside they have a bunch of exhibits and things to look at and explore. After that we found some big guns to sit on and then kept going up to the flights deck and eventually made our way up to the bridge.

Let me just say this again, but I thought this Museum WAS SO COOL. It was awesome to learn about what the ship and crew had done for our country during the wars and even after. It has a really cool history and it was just fun to walk around and see the ship and all the planes on the top deck.

Bottom line - GO SEE THIS IF YOU CAN!!!

40 MM Gun on top of the Intrepid

Me for scale on how big the propellers are

This massive chain is attached to the anchor!

View of the back portion of the flight deck. There is probably 8-10 more planes in front of this.

Basic Info:

Admission: $24 for students with ID, $31 without

Hours: 10am-5pm

Location:

bottom of page