top of page

A Claustrophobic in Chinatown

When I arrived in New York, I was a little worried about my raging claustrophobia. It's a big city with a lot of people and buildings, crowded sidewalks, and the fastest way to get around is to ride a packed train that is UNDERGROUND. I'm not about that. But I was pleasantly surprised that aside from a few moments in a hot and crowded subway car, I was pretty much okay. Until I went to Chinatown.

Woah, guys. That place is a hot mess. There are salesmen all up in your grill trying to get you to buy stuff, and a million people all trying to walk on those tiny sidewalks. I've never felt more ready to leave a place, and it made sweating on a crowded train sound like apple picking on a Sunday afternoon.

There are few things I'm truly passionate about, and never stepping foot in Chinatown is one of them. But if you are looking for a place with real authentic Asian cuisine and shops with cheap knock off designer bags/watches, then it might be worth a visit.

`

bottom of page