top of page

Project assignments


Hi, everyone. We have a lot more work to do on our website. Here are some things I need you to do right away:

I need your bio info and a preferred headshot. If I don't get this from you I'll use your BYU ID photo. :) The bio needn't be long. Please provide any links you want to personal websites, Twitter, Instagram, or whatever. You can either email this information to me or make a blog post and I'll pull it from there.

You need to write a brief description of your neighborhood. Something snappy and inviting. Just write a blog post and title it "neighborhood description" and I will put it on the website for you.

I need your favorite photo of the neighborhood--something iconic, pretty, and recognizable.

I need either you or your work partner, or the two of you together, to give a brief (15-30 second) on camera video introduction to your neighborhood. "Hi, I'm Dale, and I want to introduce you to Morningside Heights...." You don't have to be on camera the entire time---you can cover most of it with photos or b-roll video. Please let me know if you need help with this. Upload your video to YouTube or Vimeo, then embed it in a blog post. Label the blog post "[name of your neighborhood] video introduction. I'll take that and embed it on the neighborhood's web page.

I'd love to see brief videos that pertain to your neighborhood. If I were doing something on Washington Square Park, for example, I'd interview the piano player, the horn player, or the woman with the parrot on her head. Give us a flavor of the neighborhood. Maybe your video has street music behind it. Use captions (look in your Facebook feed for examples). Again, please let me know if you need help or don't know what I'm talking about.

If you are writing about food places, please provide a price range and an address. You should also add an embedded Google Map. Just go to maps.google.com, enter the address, Then click the share symbol and copy the embed code. In your blog post, click the </> HTML button, then past in the embed code. Please let me know if you need help.

bottom of page